Space for my little cadets

September 26, 2008 at 8:05 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

The walls in my boys’ room have been bare for years. On the upside, they match most of the walls in the rest of the house. On the downside, it’s pretty depressing in there. My rationale has been that they only go in to sleep in there and then their eyes are closed. Not to mention that I can’t paint since we are renting.

But lately I’ve been bitten by the decorating bug (this can be painful, especially with zero budget to feed the need) and have resolved to make our dwelling more homey.

My oldest is a whiz with a crayon, so, in a stroke of inspiration, I commissioned some artwork; aliens, spaceships, planets… ya know, space stuff. This did require some explaining since, at four-years-of age, my son’s understanding of universe is somewhat lacking.

I had the hubby pull out a huge old star map we’ve been storing in the garage and we plastered it across one wall. I covered another wall with big brother’s drawings and I’m sensing the beginnings of something beautiful.

The next phase involves styrofoam balls, string and ceiling tacks… I’ll keep you posted when I come up with the cash.

1 Comment

  1. ali said,

    I just introduced my boys to the solar system this summer and now there’s planets hanging from the ceiling orbiting the ceiling fan:) And I did include poor Pluto!

Leave a comment